top of page
Search
  • tess

Prom: From A Fat Girl's Perspective.



Prom is celebrated in high schools across the country. It's a day that most people dream about. Some would say it's the only good part of high school. You get to choose a pretty dress, get your hair and makeup don,etc). It's a day many people would fight as "The best night of my life"


For me, it's something I dread


In all honesty, finding a dress is the what I hate most about prom. The whole process is stressful. I'm not able to walk into a store and get that princess experience of trying a bunch of dresses on. Last year, I went to Atiana's boutique, and ended up crying in the dressing room. I had dragged all of my friends there with the thought that I would be trying on dresses. Instead, none of the dresses fit me and I ended up having an anxiety attack in the dressing room. After that, I went home full of embarrassment that my friends had seen me at my worst. I didn't know how I was going to get a prom dress. I figured, "maybe I shouldn't go"


Thankfully, I found a website that was known for making customized prom dress. There wasn't that many options to choose from. Not many colors, not many dress types, not much of anything. But, I had no other option. I had to either show up to prom in a garbage bag or buy a dress from the website.


I ordered my dress and thankfully, I liked it. I ended up going to prom and having a good time, but looking back, all I can do is remember the stress of getting the dress.


Now, as a senior, I'm going through the process again. It's May 5th, and I have yet to receive my dress in the mail. I'm not sure if it'll properly fit me, if it'll look the way I wanted, and I won't know until a week before prom.


I'm honestly so relieved that this will be my last prom.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Gym Class

I'd rather walk the mile not because lazy but because I don't want to feel the eyes of all of my classmates Their stares cut deep like razors but my skin has already had a taste of that and doesn't wa

bottom of page