top of page
Search
  • tess

Working: From A Fat Girl's Perspective



I've been a cashier at ShopRite for about 7 months and I've had some pretty interesting encounters with customers due to my weight.


After almost 2 months of working as a cashier, a middle aged man made a comment that didn't exactly brighten up my day. He seemed to be in his late 30s/early 40s while I was a 16 year old, which makes the whole situation even more uncomfortable. This is how the conversation went:


Me: "Hey Sir, How are you today?"


Him: "I'm good. How are you, sweetie?"


Me: "I'm good as well"


Him: "That's good. Hey, you know I'm into big girls, right?"


Me: "Okay sir your total is going to be _______


I obviously didn't know how to respond to that. All I was trying to do was scan his groceries, aka my job. It's something I never thought about happening. I didn't realize how unfiltered customers can be. It angered me that an older man was flirting with a minor while also trying to seem like an amazing guy due to the fact that he's into fat girls. Like okay, congratulations sir, do you want a parade???


That isn't 't the only encounter I've had. For example, today I was scanning groceries for an older man and he also made a comment linked to my weight.


Here's how the conversation went:


Me: "Hi Sir, How are you today"


Him: "I'm good thanks"


He then looked at my name tag


Him: "Teresina! Little Teresa, but you're not little haha" while making a wide arm gesture


I wouldn't say it upset me. I know I'm fat and I'm comfortable with that, but not every person has that mindset. Not everyone is comfortable with their body, so comments like that shouldn't necessarily be said.


Before having a job, it never crossed my mind that customers would make comments like that. I forgot how unfiltered people can be due to the fact that I hadn't experienced face-to-face comments about my weight since elementary school. It reminded that people will say what they wanna say and not care how it makes other people feel.

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Gym Class

I'd rather walk the mile not because lazy but because I don't want to feel the eyes of all of my classmates Their stares cut deep like razors but my skin has already had a taste of that and doesn't wa

bottom of page